Maharashtra MLC election results 2022: BJP wins 5 seats; NCP, Shiv Sena 2 each | Mumbai News

From left — Devendra Fadnavis, Leader of the Opposition in the Maharashtra legislative assembly, Shiv Sena president and Maharashtra CM Uddhav Thackeray, NCP chief Sharad Pawar.MUMBAI: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won five of the ten legislative council seats in Maharashtra on Monday while in the Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) —NCP and Shiv Sena secured two seats each and Congress managed to secure one seat.
BJP’s fifth candidate Prasad Lad secured 28 votes and won the election.
Last week Fadnavis had ensured the win of all the three Rajya Sabha candidates.
State BJP president Chandrakant Patil said the party secured 134 preferential votes. The party has 106 MLAs besides the support of seven other MLAs. He fully credited Fadnavis for the BJP’s victory. The opposition leader said he didn’t not believe in miracles.
“It is the discontent within the MVA that has come to the fore and converted into votes,” said Fadnavis.
He hugged Girish Mahajan, the party MLA from Jalgaon, as he came down to speak to the media. Mahajan has been instrumental in holding successful negotiations with Hitendra Thakur’s Bahujan Vikas Aghadi which has three MLAs.
Fadnavis said only he knows the truth (on the MLAs who voted for the BJP). He has succeeded in splitting 21 votes.
“I thank all the MLAs from all the parties as also the independents who helped us and ensured the victory of our fifth candidate. In the Rajya Sabha elections we secured 123 votes in this election we secured 134 votes. Right from the beginning, I have been saying there is a lot of anger in the Maha Vikas Aghadi. There is no coordination between the three parties. We had no votes for the fifth candidate but our fifth candidate got more votes than the two candidates of Congress,” he said.
The Opposition leader said there was a Modi wave. Our leader Narendra Modi was transforming India, today Maharashtra stands by him. We could see a change in Maharashtra.
“The discontent against this government has come to the fore. We shall continue our agitation till we ensure the victory of a people’s party,” he said.
The Congress objected to the votes cast by another person for BJP MLAs Mukta Tilak and Laxman Jagtap (both unwell and wheelchair-bound) but in the end, the party ensured that all its candidates sailed through.
Patil said the party had obtained prior permission from the Election Commission for Tilak and Jagtap to be accompanied by an attendant given their medical condition.
All four candidates won in the first preferential round itself. Pravin Darekar secured 29 votes, Professor Ram Shinde 30, Shrikant Bharatiya 30 and Uma Khapre 27 (one vote was declared invalid on account of overwriting).
“Our party leaders speak less and spend more time on strategising and the results speak for it,” said Mahajan, considered close to Fadnavis.
Lad said at least 12 votes of the Sena had split. “At least now Thackeray must silence the parrot (Sanjay Raut) who kept saying what can one Fadnavis do.” FOLLOW US ON SOCIAL MEDIAFacebookTwitterInstagramKOO APPYOUTUBE

Thank you for reading the Maharashtra MLC election results 2022: BJP wins 5 seats; NCP, Shiv Sena 2 each | Mumbai News by LyRiCsHaB Hope You like the article, Do share on social media like Facebook, twitter etc.

Leave a Comment